Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Lincoln Portraits – Eric

Sigh. I don’t know a whole lot about fraternities and sororities. I was never really that interested in “going greek.” Anything I did know about the Greek system I learned from movies like Legally Blonde, Animal House, and Sydney White. So when I started dating my boyfriend, Corey, boy was I in for a rude awakening! All my predispositions were completely false…there’s a lot more to being Greek than I originally thought.

What does this have to do with photography? Well, Corey’s fraternity is how I met Eric. In their house, freshman have to switch roommates every quarter. Sound excessive? That’s what I thought. But the reason they do it is so they can meet new guys. So Eric was a freshman when I met him. He, like Corey, is an engineering major, so the three of us would spend nights pouring over calculus problems, desperate to find solutions. It was always the boys that usually figured them out, never me… Throughout that quarter, Eric and I became pretty good friends. And when I asked him if he would do a session with me, he jumped at the idea. And I was glad, because this session taught me a lot. It was my first time shooting a man. And let me tell you, men photograph different than women!

We decided to do the session on the (now) old state fair grounds. If you don’t know the story behind it, here is a good article about what’s going on (although it only scratches the surface). We wanted to capture some of the character of the buildings before they are gone forever. Even in the midst of the construction, it still felt good to be there.

2 responses

  1. these are great. i love the color in the red! thanks for sharing your talent!

    i also noticed that you had a fb link to your fan page, are you noticing some differences in numbers on your fan page? love that!

    April 8, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    • Gina – thank you so much for your compliments! I’m actually very new to the blogging/facebook thing for my photography, so I don’t have a whole lot of fans/followers. Getting there, though! I’m very excited that you like the photos :)

      April 8, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

