Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Friday Faves – April 9, 2010

I love the little things in life. Actually, I like the big things, too, but it doesn’t take a whole lot to excite me. So here are some of the things I’ve gotten excited about this week!

Future Farmers of America –  It’s State FFA this weekend, and thousands of high-schoolers have swarmed upon the campus. No seriously, there are about 3300 students registered for the conference. Although my parents weren’t farmers and I wasn’t in FFA (I’m not even sure my high school had it!), I’ve always been a country girl. When I lived in Ohio we had a good sized plot of land out in the country, and during the summers I loved to spend time outside. I’ve always had a special place in my heart for country folk, so seeing all the blue jackets walking around gives me a feeling I can’t explain. They’re all incredibly nice and it’s great to see them enjoying themselves. Plus I’m a sucker for cowboy boots :)

Borrowlenses.com – this is a great company that rents out lenses and other equipment for certain periods of time. It’s pretty inexpensive, and a great way to get a feel for a piece of equipment you’re not sure if you really want. Shipping is fast, and it’s a good opportunity to try before you buy!

Jasmine Star – This woman is simply amazing. Not only is she an amazing photographer, but she is so real when it comes to her Facebook and her blog. She reminds me that it’s okay to be fun, spontaneous, and totally “out-there” sometimes. Plus, she’s always more than willing to share her advice and knowledge with new photographers. Love her!

Reba – In honor of the George Strait and Reba concert that was in Omaha, my best friend and I watched about five or six episodes of Reba last night. It is seriously one of my all time favorite television shows! My favorite character? I CAN’T CHOOSE! Reba has the best facial expressions (or does Barbara Jean??) and I absolutely love how she says the word “moron,” and how little Jake is so clueless sometimes! Van and Cheyenne are so great in their idiocy, and Kira in her cynicism. I love Brock because he hilariously puts up with Barbara Jean, who is so crazy! If you haven’t seen the show, go rent the first season. You’ll be hooked, wondering why you’re life isn’t that funny!

Date nights – Not the movie. Although I really want to see it! I’m talking about spending a whole evening with someone special. My best friend and I had what we like to call a “Catie-Rachel Date Night;” We went to Ruby Tuesdays and spent the evening watching Reba (see above!). It was great to spend some time with her, just talking about life. And when it comes to our lives, there’s way too much to talk about right now. Tonight will be some sort of date night with my significant other, Mister Smith, although I have absolutely no idea what we’re going to do. Neither does he. We’re both pretty poor decision makers (especially when it comes to dinner) so who knows what will happen! We’ll probably end up ordering pizza and renting a movie. Exciting.

And no post should go without a great photo :)

Spring has sprung around here. Finally.

One response

  1. Andrea

    Hi Rachel,
    I’m new to your blog, just strating to read through, hope it’s OK. I love your photos, looking forward to seeing more of it.
    Thanks for the mention of Jasmine Star, i will be sure to check her blog out. I’m always on the look-out for inspiring photographers.

    Andrea x

    July 18, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Leave a Reply

