Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

2010 UNL Rodeo

“It’s the ropes and the reins, and the joy and the pain, and they call the thing a rodeo.”

Every year at UNL, the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (CASNR) puts on a week of fun: CASNR Week. And how do they kick off CASNR Week? You got it. A rodeo.

I can’t explain to you the feeling I get from a rodeo. The atmosphere is amazing. Dust and dirt everywhere. Boots. Conchos. Chaps. Buckles. Hats. Ahhhh. My summers are usually filled with rodeo after rodeo. Two summers ago I couldn’t even count how many I’d been to. Last summer I experienced a ranch rodeo for the first time. If you ever have the chance, check one out. It’s way different than a regular rodeo.

If you haven’t been to any kind of rodeo, do it. This summer. Just give it a shot and you just might get hooked. Have I mentioned I love rodeos??

Clean vehicles are so overrated..

What’s a rodeo without rodeo queens?

Sigma Alpha holds a fundraising event called Kiss the Pig every year in which students vote for a UNL professor to kiss a pig!

In case you don’t know anything about barrel racing, you’re not supposed to knock over a barrel..

Do cowboy butts drive you nuts, too??

Three easy steps to wrestling a steer:

1) Grab

2) Twist

3) Fall

So there was this super cute proposal at Friday night’s rodeo. He got a little help from the rodeo queens.

Check out the awesome ring!

Maybe I can do their engagement session…? ;)

5 responses

  1. Carol Wusk

    What awesome action shots! With my little camera I would just have a blur. You are really becoming a pro. I liked your commentary too!

    April 21, 2010 at 7:40 am

  2. Bobbi Soukup

    Hi,
    My son Ted is the steer wrestler in your pictures. I would love to order some of these pictures. Please contact me and let me know pricing. Thank you.
    Bobbi

    April 23, 2010 at 11:15 am

  3. Mama Sabata

    Rach, Bobbi Soukup is right you did really great! Love CS

    April 25, 2010 at 1:56 pm

  4. shelly nielsen

    Great shots! And this was a proposal to my dearest friend Kate! So glad you took these shots!!! Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    April 28, 2010 at 9:14 am

  5. Melissa Colborn

    The picture(s) of the rodeo queens, the man and the woman kissing/woman smiling, and the ring is my MOM!!!! :D I’m so happy for her!!! By the way, great pictures, I’ve gotta say:))

    May 19, 2010 at 3:27 pm

Leave a Reply

