Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

There’s no ham in hamburger

I watched him as he dug into it. Chicken Pot Pie. Mom never made/bought it for us growing up. She probably figured no one would like it. My sister and I (and our dad) are pretty picky eaters. So when Corey saw that they made Chicken Pot Pie at KFC, he had to get it. He began describing what was in it. “Carrots, peas, potatoes. Oh, and of course, chicken.” I laughed and said I hoped there was chicken in it. I mean, after all, it’s in the name of the dish! And then, like he always does, he made me think.

“There’s no ham in hamburger.”

I just wanted to be silly. And there he goes again, making me use my brain. On vacation!

His aunt and uncle have a cabin on a lake. Well, actually it’s sort of like a wide spot in a river…but whatever. So we took our KFC (I had Taco Bell) out to the cabin to have a picnic and do some fishing.

The view from the cabin:

Look! Boy and girl fishing poles! Guess who used each one ;)

I could have stayed out here all night.

So, when we first got out on the water and put our lines in, immediately Corey was reeling his in because he caught something. It was just a little guy, but I’ll admit, I was jealous. So we kept trolling. Waiting. Talking. Taking in the beauty. Then all of a sudden Corey thinks he snagged his line on something, so he slows the boat and starts reeling, swearing to me the whole time he caught a bunch of seaweed.

Until he got it closer to the surface. “Oh, maybe I do have something! It’s sure putting up a fight! Get the net, it’s a big one!” So I scramble to find it, but just as I am leaning over the railing to help, it got away. We have no idea what it was, but it had to have been pretty huge. But it DOESN’T COUNT since he didn’t get it in the boat. :)

So I won the prize for the biggest catch of the day. Which wasn’t really a prize…just gloating rights and explaining to Cor that I really did win because his got away :)

Of course, at the end of the day, I have to give mad props to the captain. Even though he won’t ever give me a real smile.

It was a perfect end to a perfect day.

Leave a Reply

