Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Capital Humane Society – Tails+Trails

This past Sunday I volunteered my time and talents. And I feel so rewarded by the experience. I learned so much, saw new things, and simply had a blast.

The local shelter in town, Capital Humane Society hosted their annual Tails and Trails fundraiser event. It’s basically this big festival held in Haymarket Park where dog lovers from all over come to meet other people, connect with different organizations and services, and, most importantly, walk to support the shelter.

There were lots of vendors, selling everything from in-home boarding to homemade dog treats. I brought my roomie and puppy with me, and we got lots of free goodies!

There were also lots and LOTS of dog lovers. I was pretty amazed because I’ve never really been part of that group before, but hey, I’m a changed woman.

Look! Puppy caricatures!

And of course, there were loads of dogs. Dogs of all ages, shapes and sizes. I’ve never seen so many different breeds before! God sure is amazingly creative!

Hey, that dog on the right sure is cute! Ha, I just couldn’t resist the opportunity to photograph my baby. She did really well given that she’s not really a fan of other dogs or other people! :)

Look at that blue eye! Love!!

The did have some pretty amazing activities for the furry friends to do…like painting!

A photo with the Lincoln Salt Dogs mascot!

Water!

Don’t forget agilities!

And the awesome guy who taught his dog a ton of frisbee tricks!

It was so refreshing to get out of my comfort zone and attend an event I normally wouldn’t give a second thought to. Plus, the ladies who put this thing on, Donna and Alisa, are super amazing! Yay for new friends!

My challenge for you this weekend…get out of your comfort zone! It’s so worth it! :)

Happy Thursday!

4 responses

  1. Love these photos as usual! You caught some great dog personalities/expressions on film.

    September 23, 2010 at 3:58 pm

  2. Marcy Stewart

    Love these pictures!!! I especially love the rat terrier standing on his back legs. Maybe that is because that is my Scout! :) Terrific job Rachel!!!

    October 8, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    • Brenda Herel

      We love Scout too and hope that he can survive his recent surgeries…hang in there buddy! We miss you. You are a super-strong boy!

      Signed, the Beagles in the picture, Jax & Jose

      P.S. Great pictures Rachel!! You are a superstar!

      October 11, 2010 at 6:25 pm

  3. Sue Meyers

    This looks like it was great fun…cute pics of the dogs. Good for you getting out of the comfort zone!!

    November 3, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Leave a Reply

