Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Lincoln Engagement – Wayne+Michelle

The first time I met Wayne was my freshman year of college when a group of mutual friends were going country swing dancing. But the weird part is that Wayne doesn’t really like to dance. We ended up becoming friends throughout college, and my best friend and I actually moved into Wayne and his brothers’ old apartment when they got a house. Fast forward a couple summers and Wayne came to visit me at work. It was totally random, because he wasn’t in the area, but he had a purpose. He brought Michelle. He’d told me a bit about her before, like how she was a country girl and loved to do the same things he did, and how much he just loved spending time with her. And apparently he wanted me to meet her. I don’t remember many of the details, but I remember she was tall, tan and cute, and that it was kinda the most random visit ever.

Fast forward again to a couple months ago. Both Wayne and I had gotten busy with life and hadn’t talked much. But Wayne was engaged. Now, for us who knew Wayne, this was a big deal! He told me once, completely serious, that he wasn’t going to settle down until he was thirty. Needless to say, we were all shocked. Michelle has these qualities about her that I can’t even put into words. She’s fun, goofy, and everything that Wayne needs. The peanut butter to his jelly. Seriously. And somehow, from day one, Wayne knew she was the one. They are so comfortable with each other. She knows when, like most men, he needs his space, and he knows just how to make her giggle. Now that’s love.

I’m so excited to photograph Wayne and Michelle’s wedding in July in Orleans, NE. I just love the love these two have for each other and I know it’s going to be a day I won’t soon forget.

The lives of these two completely revolve around Wayne’s family farm. So what better place for engagement photos than, hello?? THE FARM! And I happily obliged because this is a green family, and I just love me some John Deere. :)

Can we say gorgeous?

Thank God for harvest.

Then we went out to this sweet old hay barn on Wayne’s property. It used to also house livestock, but they’ve since stuck with just farming.

It should be noted that this was NOT prompted. I asked them to hold hands, and as I was looking up from my camera settings, I saw this happening. Have I ever told you that I LOVE LOVE??

Oh my gosh, Michelle. Your fierceness and beauty kill me.

I had mentioned that I really wanted to get a photo of them in a grassy field, and we passed a few while driving around that would have been sufficient. But Wayne was determined to come to this one. And, friends, I am SO THANKFUL. These photos completely blow my mind every time I look at them.

I totally love these two because I think they capture how much Michelle adores Wayne. We were wrapping up in the field and I happened to glance up and she was just hugging him. All at once now… awwwww!

A week or two ago, we headed to Pawnee Park to get a few photographs because that’s where Wayne proposed. While they were fishing. And I absolutely love when clients choose locations that mean something to them, so I couldn’t refuse.

I would say this one is my favorite, but that’s really not fair. I seriously can’t choose a single favorite. There’s no way.

Wayne and Michelle, thank you for being so fabulous. Seriously, I can’t keep the smile off my face when I look through these photos. You both have such a special place in my heart, and I’m so grateful for your belief in me. It means more than you know. XOXO :)

Happy Tuesday!

9 responses

  1. Kathy Ortmeier

    Rachel, the pictures are absolutely great!!! Thankyou so much for making them so special and catching what Wayne and Michelle are truley about. Can’t wait to have you do the wedding it will be perfect!!

    Kathy

    October 12, 2010 at 9:16 am

  2. awesome post, rachel! love love love the ones in the field! they were all great, especially when connected with your narration about their relationship. very cool stuff! =]

    October 12, 2010 at 9:26 am

  3. Brittnee

    These photos are soooo beautiful! You are so talented!
    I absolutely love the ring shot.

    October 12, 2010 at 11:31 am

  4. Michelle Ortmeier

    When Wayne took me to East Campus two summers ago to meet his friend Rachel I had no clue what was about to come my way. Then, my thought was, “why am I meeting her, who is she?”, now my thoughts are how blessed I am to have such a beautiful and talented friend.

    Rachel you are one of my favorites (friends that is) and I am so thankful that you were able to capture the mine and Wayne’s Love for each other.

    Muah**

    October 12, 2010 at 2:09 pm

  5. Carol

    These pictures are simply awesome! You really have found your God-given talent. Congratulations on acting on it! A lot of people don’t.

    October 12, 2010 at 3:05 pm

  6. laura

    Rach, great job as always :) Especially love the ones in the field, but also the b&w’s at the lake

    October 12, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  7. Kathy Miller

    great pictures!!!!!! Didn’t know Michelle was such a country girl!!!! LaVerle wanted to know where the basketball or volleyball pictures were!!!! Congratulations!!!

    October 12, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    • Michelle Ortmeier

      See what happens when I grow up Kathy. Mom says I always wanted to marry a cowboy and I have (since the age of 5) always asked my dad to move us to the farm. Guess I just had to find a boy to teach me to drive a swather and work cattle to completely turn me over to the country side.

      October 13, 2010 at 8:36 am

    • Kathy Ortmeier

      She has always wanted to live on a farm, all we could give her was a garden, a dog and a cat! She will fit in very nicely on the farm!

      October 13, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

