Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

The Mess We Call Life

It’s been well over a year since I moved out of the college dorms and into an apartment. I was thinking this morning how living there was such a love/hate relationship. I didn’t really mind sharing a room, but it was the bathroom thing I hated. Hated lugging your shower stuff all the way there only to find that all four showers were in use. Or the fact that on our floor, only two got really hot. I lovelovelove having my own bathroom.

When I was a freshman, I didn’t take a ton of stuff with me. I had quite a bit of clothes, and obviously my school things, but I didn’t have a whole lot extra. Therefore, my room was always clean. People who know me now can’t believe it, but everything had its place, and most of the time, everything was in its place. Sophomore year I brought a ton more stuff with me, and my neat-freak spell was over. I tried to keep my room essentially how it was the previous year (I had the same room), but for some reason it didn’t work out.

I think part of the problem is that I have a habit of never fully moving in. Read: nothing gets a permanent home. It was the same way sophomore year, and junior year in the apartment, and now this year in the new apartment. Things usually look a little bit like this:

I’ve also had a recent infestation of lady bugs. When the first couple started moving in, I wasn’t really too concerned because my parents’ house has had a few also. But then they flocked to my bedside, and I was a little worried how they were getting in considering there weren’t ladybugs anywhere else in the apartment. The culprit? A hole in my window frame!

Strangely enough most of the lady bugs are dead before I ever realize they’ve arrived. We’ve only caught a couple roaming around. And we might be on the tail end of them since we had the first freeze of winter. So the vacuum is coming out, and I’m headed to Target to change my ways and give everything a place in my room. The biggest problem: clothes.

We’ll see how this turns out. Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

