Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Redneck Wine Connoisseurs

Let me just start out by saying, my roommate and I aren’t big on alcohol. It’s expensive, and quite frankly, I don’t think it tastes very good (I get that from my daddy). So needless to say, when my roommate came home the other day with a bottle of wine, I didn’t know what to think. Especially because it was a kind we never had before. Side note: we’re not adventurous. At all.

So last night after our supper we decided to try this new wine. As I’m getting the glasses out, I hear behind me: “Dude, I think it has a cork in it!” WHAT? Corked wine bottles? Who knew such things existed! Another side note: if we do buy “wine”, it’s Boone’s Farm and they have TWIST tops. Therefore we do not own a corkscrew.

And so the adventure commenced. All to try this funny new bottle of wine:

Catie left the room and came back with a whole bunch of tools..

See, it works just like a corkscrew!

Except we ran into the problem that it didn’t work just like a corkscrew. The first screw we tried came right out of the cork. So we tried multiple screws. Finally we go one that had wide enough grooves to possibly succeed. Although the pulling process wasn’t easy.

We finally had to resort to using our doggy gate.

It worked! So we toasted to our adventure and all the laughter. And guess what. After all the trouble, we HATED IT. So we went to the store and got some Boone’s Farm in all its twist top glory. And a corkscrew…ya know, just in case.

Happy Friday!

4 responses

  1. ummm…best story EVER!!!

    November 12, 2010 at 11:44 am

  2. Love the story…but it’s a shame you drink Boonesfarm!

    I love wine so much! Try a riesling or a malbec, those are a bit sweeter.

    happy tasting!

    -Lucky

    November 12, 2010 at 12:02 pm

  3. not a wine drinker–or alcohol of any variety, for that matter–but this was hilarious. i totally would’ve given up after the first screw didn’t work! love that you captured the whole thing. =]

    November 12, 2010 at 4:10 pm

  4. Pingback: Watching People Have Fun «

Leave a Reply

