Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Branding: Some of My Thoughts

I think it might be officially two weeks since I’ve blogged. No, I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth. Yes, I’ve been busy. Family, school, life. But I’ve got a lot of fun things to blog soon so I’m hoping to get back in the swing of things. And, in case you were wondering, yes. I’ve still been keeping up with my ThreeSixFive project, even if I haven’t been posting every day. So, onto this thing called branding.

I was in the kitchen the other day and began to think. Scary, I know. Branding is such a foreign thing to me. I hear photographers talk about it and how important it is for their business, but until now it’s not meant much to me. But then I noticed a bottle on my shelf. Now, as a disclaimer, I’m really not a drinker, so this might be an odd post, but bear with me.

On one of our shelves, we have a Jack Daniel’s Gentlemen Jack bottle that holds popcorn. The kind for air poppers. (It’s amazing, by the way.) And somehow, staring at the bottle, the whole idea of branding sort of clicked. A light came on. Another disclaimer, my roommate and I didn’t even buy this bottle. Nor did we drink it. But I absolutely love the bottle. Along with the regular Jack bottles.

They’re clean. Simple. Classy. Three things that I love. And all of Jack Daniel’s marketing follows this same theme. Black and white. Simple font. A few fancy swirls, and bam! That’s it. And it works. People know JD by it. It’s on the bottles. It’s on the website. The shot glasses. T-shirts. They all follow the same theme. Even the icon next to the address bar of their website follows the theme.

So how do I apply this to my new business? I have no idea. Because first, I have to have a theme. A theme that represents me. And I don’t really know what that would be. But I feel that having a better understanding of branding puts me one step closer.

Happy Saturday!

3 responses

  1. Michelle Ortmeier

    I highly respect your use of Gentleman Jack for this post. You’re awesome.

    November 30, 2010 at 2:26 pm

  2. laura

    One of my co-workers stopped at their bottling facility on a road trip. He said it was one of the most awesome tours he’s been on because they still do things the way it was done 100 years ago.

    December 4, 2010 at 8:25 am

  3. Pingback: Branding – Going Deeper «

Leave a Reply

