Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Learning the Hard Way. Again.

I learned something yesterday. And not the kind of learning that happens in the classroom. I don’t know that that is truly learning. I’m talking the kind of learning you get from experience. Sometimes good experiences, sometimes bad.

Yesterday’s experience was bad.

State and local sales taxes were due today. I put them off until the last minute. Why? Because I have pretty pathetic records. Luckily, my client viewing website keeps a record of everything that goes through it. Otherwise I’d be lost. So I had to comb through my bank statements and other records to create a legit account of what happened from when I started my business in May until New Year’s Eve.

Don’t worry, it only took a couple HOURS.

Sometimes it sucks being the kind of person that has to learn things the hard way. But I did learn my lesson. And you can bet that my newly created Excel spreadsheet is going to be open every time money changes hands. That way, this time next year, I won’t have to put off my sales taxes. Or my income tax. Because, really, it’s just like school deadlines, and sometimes it’s nice to get them done and over with.

I took this photo last fall during harvest out at Corey’s parents’ farm. I like it, but I don’t love it because the depth of field is too shallow. When I first started out, I was so focused on shooting wide open that I’d set my aperture as wide as it could go and never touched it again. But I’m learning that it’s okay to stop down depending on the circumstances. It’s a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

