Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Every Part of My Being

It took a lot of effort for me to push send. I was sitting on my parents’ living room floor writing an email to a local photographer whose blog I’d been following for a while. I wanted to meet her. I wanted to pick her brain, be her friend. But how do you say that to someone you don’t know without sounding weird. And, really, why would she want to meet me? Some little old soul trying to start a photography business like all the other wannabes out there? Luckily, my intro to entrepreneurship class has a project due later this month where you have to contact and interview a successful entrepreneur, preferably in the field you want to pursue. So there was my legit reason to contact her.

I sent the message, and she, Allison Garrett, promptly responded. She said she’d love to be interviewed and I had no reason to be nervous (I may have mentioned that I was. I’m so cool I can’t believe it…)! I was so relieved. She didn’t think I was crazy. So we set up a time to meet. Yesterday. And it was so unbelievable. She knows so much. And has so many clients. And she’s just great.

We chatted about everything, but mostly photography. We discussed her path to becoming a full time photographer, some of her practices and policies, equipment, legal issues, etc. I learned so much, but was also left with a longing. A longing to learn as much as I can. To get out there and gain experience. And confidence. In myself, and in my skills.

But mostly, I’m encouraged. That I was on the right track she was telling me. And encouraged by the possibility. The possibility that someday I can be in her shoes, talking to a college kid wannabe photographer who wants to succeed in photography with every part of her being.

4 responses

  1. you’re a phenomenal photographer. i just want you to know that. and i still feel that way, 2 years in…the desire to be greater. i’m so excited to see where you go with your business!

    February 4, 2011 at 8:38 am

  2. Love the photograph of the saddle!

    February 4, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    • Thanks, Court! It was actually taken shortly after I first got my camera almost a year ago! I was looking through old files and found it! :)

      February 4, 2011 at 7:54 pm

  3. Pingback: Being Encouraged and Motivated «

Leave a Reply

