Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Where I Come From

Last week I was going through some old folders on my computer and found some really fun work that I’d forgotten. Seriously, I have tons of folders of photos I downloaded and forgot about. Like, I just uploaded photos from my trip to Ohio last summer this past week. Hello?! It’s ridiculous, I know.

Anyway, during that trip to Ohio, I photographed both my cousin and my sister’s best friend for senior photos. Those were the files I cared most about so I didn’t really do much with the others. Except forget about them. But I had some time on my hands last week and I decided to go through them. I’ve said that already.

While both of my parents come from farming families, I didn’t actually grow up on a farm. My dad got into engineering and my mom into the medical field. These photos are from my grandparents’ place. I spent a lot of time here growing up, and now that I’m older and my grandpa has passed away, I cherish the memories even more.

Part of the reason these photographs were taken was because my dad and uncle were putting on new siding to my grandma’s barn. Metal siding. And I really wanted to capture the character and history the barn had before it was all spiffy looking. I like the old look. It’s like it has a personality.

There is so much history here it’s not even funny. This barn has seen rain, snow, sleet, ice. It’s seen the good times and the bad. And it’s more than just an old barn to me. It’s Grandma’s barn. Grandpa’s barn. It’s family.

This is what happens when the family gets together. We work. Because, if you live on a farm, you know that something’s always got to be fixed.

Grandma picks these apples every year and makes the greatest applesauce you’ll ever eat. I can’t eat applesauce from the store anymore.

Got the scaffolding in the back of this one, but I think it sort of adds to the geometric-ness (yes, I just made up a word) of the shot.

This is so special to me because it’s my grandpa. His words. His handwriting. I see this, and I see him. And I miss him.

Leave a Reply

