Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Why I Need My Mama

Saturday night I called my mom hysterically. I was so scared. And I just needed her.

I finished doing my workout (Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred) that I’ve been doing for a week or two. Then I found this sweet pilates leg workout (Lord knows my legs need work!) and it was totally fun. So I decided to look around our Exercise On Demand to see if there were any other fun pilates workouts to try, and I started watching this Weight Loss Pilates to see if it was something I would be interested in.

I watched it for a while and then decided to jump on the computer for a few minutes before taking my shower. But things looked funny. I wasn’t really sure why at first, but something was definitely going on. I chalked it up to being way out of shape and just tired after my workouts, and started getting ready to get in the shower. But things started looking worse. I was having trouble seeing.

Mom! I think I’m getting the kind of migraine I had when I was younger! I’m losing part of my sight! Mom, I’m so scared, I haven’t had one of these in YEARS! Of course, she was worried, but she calmly told me just to take my medicine and lay down. We talked through it a little bit; reasons why I might be getting one now, if anything weird has been going on, etc. Then Catie came home and I felt a little more relieved. I wasn’t alone.

I’m such a hypochondriac. I seriously always think I’m dying. But these migraines are serious business. My sister, who always got them worse than I did, would have stroke-like symptoms with her migraines. And my uncle would usually have to be taken to the emergency room to be knocked out because the pain was so bad. So it was nice to have someone with me.

So my vision went away, the LSD-like lights came in my eyes, and then the headache came. I took some Excedrin Migraine so the pain wasn’t as bad as it could have been, but it was still bad enough that I had a hard time falling asleep. Sunday I still had a lingering headache that every once in a while became really intense for a few moments, and then went back to being an annoying dull ache.

Today I feel great. And it’s supposed to be sunny and 55°.

And my roommate and I are getting out of the city. We’re headed to a quarter-horse breeding ranch. She gets to ride. I get to photograph. And we’ll be in the great outdoors. Together. Pursuing our dreams. Doing what we love.

Leave a Reply

