Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Being Encouraged and Motivated

In my management class, we’ve been talking about different ways to motivate employees without giving them pay raises (because that’s not always an option). My biggest motivator is encouragement. I love to hear that I’m doing a great job from someone who knows what they’re talking about. It lifts me up and pushes me to keep going strong.

A couple days ago, I got an email from a photographer in town that I have looked up to for a while. I hadn’t really done much more than follow his blog, but I loved his work and couldn’t get enough. A couple months ago I actually considered emailing him (around the same time I contacted Allison Garrett) but I was too afraid. Fast forward to a few weeks ago, he posted a status on Facebook about attending a certain photographer’s session at WPPI. I commented because I thought I knew who he was talking about, but wasn’t sure, and wanted to know what he thought of his approach. He didn’t respond, but that was okay. Those established photographers are busy. I get it.

Then randomly, I got an email from him on Monday. He apologized for not seeing my post (which he responded to on FB also) and told me he looked at my website and that I was doing a great job. I about hit the floor when I read it. To hear an established photographer tell me that I’m doing great and that I’ve definitely got my stuff together – wow. He told me not to hesitate to ask questions, and that is so exciting to me. I try to do a lot of networking online with other photographers, through resources like Facebook and the [ b ] school, but they’re all mostly in other parts of the country. So to know someone in Lincoln I could turn to if I needed help is such a positive thing for me.

It’s nice to make friends in this industry. Otherwise, it can be a very lonely place sometimes.

2 responses

  1. you’re not going to say who the photographer is? what a tease!

    March 5, 2011 at 12:29 am

  2. I should get the guts to email some of the (local) photographers that I admire, I’ve yet to really connect with another photographer, and it’s really lonely. The fact that the guy was nice enough to email you back & all that fun stuff is encouraging, all hope is not lost :)

    March 14, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

