Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Facebook Profiles VS Pages

I posted this the other day on one of the photography forums I’m a part of. I totally don’t want to be accusatory or a Debbie-Downer, but I just want everyone to be aware and don’t want anyone to get in trouble or have their Facebook profile shut down and lose everything forever!

I’ve noticed photographers creating profiles on Facebook for their photography business, and I just wanted to gently point out that doing so is technically against Facebook policy and your profile could actually get shut down, causing you to lose everything…and I don’t want that to happen to anyone! I don’t personally know anyone that has happened to, but I have heard stories from other photographers I do know.

According to Facebook’s Terms and Conditions, under section 4 (Registration and Security) it says in #4 that “you will not use your personal profile for your own commercial gain.” In the Help section, under the question “How are Pages Different from Personal Profiles”, it states that “profiles represent individuals and must be held under an individual name, while Pages allow an organization, business, celebrity, or band to maintain a professional presence on Facebook.”

Also, by having a personal profile, and a second profile the is for your business, it is also a violation because Facebook does not allow you to manage multiple accounts.

On the brighter side, there’s some major positives to having a page versus a profile, especially with the improvements they added a few weeks ago. This guy outlines the reasons to have a page but I’ll summarize: 1) Terms and Conditions, 2) Limited to 5000 friends, 3) Search engines, 4) Promotions (although apparently FB has specific rules about those as well), 5) Insights and Analytics, 6) Advertising.

So, I feel bad writing this , but I just don’t want anyone to get in trouble and I feel like this not really a well known fact… Please don’t be mad for me pointing this out! :(

If you want to read about it yourself, check out Facebook’s Terms & Conditions, their Pages Terms & Conditions, and the Promotional Guidelines.

I like you guys and just want you to be aware! XOXO

And because posts are SO much better with an image…here’s a shot of some CRP grass that I posted on my Facebook page last night from my random drive through the countryside. I had to get out and clear my head from a few things, and apparently it paid off!

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

