Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

My Roller Coaster of Emotions

I’ve always been pretty emotional. Emotional in the fact that I rarely just am. I tend to experience a lot of emotions at the same time, and more often than not, I hit overload and crash. And to make matters worse, I’ve become such a weeper. I seriously can’t watch half of the shows on television because I WILL CRY. I used to make fun of my mother for being that way when I was a child, saying, Jeeze mom, are you crying?? And now? Karma has come back around and I’ve turned into her!

Sometime around the end of January or early February marked the anniversary of the day I bought my Canon. For those of you who don’t know, I shoot with a Canon Rebel, and for the most part, I’m proud of it! Yes, I have pretty well outgrown it, especially since I’m jumping into weddings this summer. But it’s been my trusty little sidekick for over a year now. It was such a great friend to learn with. To experiment. To get frustrated (a lot!). To find joy.

This past year has been interesting, to say the least. My roller coaster of emotions drives me absolutely bonkers, but I’m pursuing what I feel I’m called to do, and that’s what matters, right? Sometimes I feel like I’m never going to get to where I want to be. Like every force in this great wide world is fighting against me. Too often I let those lies consume me, and I get so frustrated that I just want to give up. And then other times I’m encouraged. By a successful session, a beautiful photograph, or connecting with photographers around the country chatting about our passions.

The last few days I have been so motivated by comments left on my blog and on facebook after checking out my Photographer’s Resource page. People experiencing the same things I am. Wanting more than anything for this photography thing to work out. They get it. I get it. I am not alone in this journey. I am not the first to go down this path, and I will not be the last. So to those reading, thank you. You make my heart happy when all it wants to do is give up.

One response

  1. I feel you there, girl! It’s so great to finally not feel totally alone in all this :)

    March 15, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Leave a Reply

