Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Branding – Going Deeper

A while ago, I wrote a post about some of my opinions on branding. It dealt with more of the logo side of branding, and while that is an important part of branding, the other side of it finally clicked for me a couple days ago.

I was browsing one of my favorite blogs, Style Me Pretty, under the “destination wedding” category, of course. Skimming over any weddings that didn’t involve white sand and turquoise water (and only looking at the images and the first few words in the titles), I came across a beautiful seaside wedding that had this feel to it. It was familiar. But also not, at the same time. There weren’t any logos on the images, and I found myself thinking, as I came to some of the bridal portraits, that this wedding looked a lot like something Jasmine Star would photograph. So, naturally, I looked to see who photographed it. And guess what. She did photograph the wedding!

Now that’s branding.

It’s like how I can watch TV and see a commercial with a bunch of red things and almost immediately realize it’s a Macy’s commercial. Because red is their thing. Or how you can look at any mp3 player and immediately tell if it’s an Apple product or not. That’s branding. Being able to recognize something with out labels or logos. You can just tell by the feel, the style, the look of something.

Another photographer that has great branding is Chris and Brandi at La Brisa Photography. The homepage for my Facebook app on my Droid shows most recent images as thumbnails at the bottom. And I can almost always pick out which ones are his. From thumbnails. On a Droid. No words. No indication other than the image itself. Now that’s branding.

So what do my images say? Have I accomplished any type of branding? Do I have a definitive style that people can recognize as mine? Well, no. But someday, hopefully. Right now I’m just excited to actually understand the concept.

6 responses

  1. your best post to date, hands down. i couldn’t agree with you more – branding is so much more than logos and watermarks. i’m not sure that others recognize my pictures yet either, but i’m certain we weren’t given such a great talent for nothing! :)

    March 22, 2011 at 11:30 am

  2. Kim

    Great post Rachel! I was just trying to explain this the other day and felt I didn’t have the right words. You put this perfectly!

    March 22, 2011 at 1:09 pm

  3. Now you’ve got me thinking, I don’t think my images are recognizable as mine yet. I know what I like, but I’m still getting it all narrowed down into what’s ‘me’. Thanks for making me think :)

    March 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm

  4. Hey Rachel! You put that really REALLY well. I’ve been trying to figure out this branding thing as well, trying to figure out what exactly it is and how to go about it. Thanks for sharing your insight :)

    March 22, 2011 at 5:04 pm

  5. A fantastic epiphany! Differentiation is the single most important element of branding. As an artist, the process of uncovering what makes you different can be easier than less “creative” industries. Your personal style will always speak volumes. The more difficult task then becomes, how do you pinpoint those looking for your particular brand of different. :)

    March 22, 2011 at 11:16 pm

  6. you’re awesome Rachel! Seriously, your growth, passion and motivation is to be commended and at such a young age too! Keep challenging yourself to get better and continue to share your thoughts and ideas with the rest of us because we all benefit! =)

    March 23, 2011 at 1:53 am

Leave a Reply

