Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Happy Anniversary!

To my dear blog. One year ago, today, I posted my very first blog post. I can’t believe it’s really been a year since I started this thing. So much in my life has changed since then. So much about my photography has changed also. And yet, still, so much is the same. I’ve learned a lot, grown a lot, and am encouraged by my progress. I hope this next year brings more learning, more progress, and a lot more pretty images!

So. My very first post. This was about a month and a half after I bought my camera (Canon Rebel). I bought it with the kit lens (18-55mm f/3.5-5.6) and was not happy with the results I was getting. I’m a huge fan (I mean HUGE) of some good bokeh, and that lens just wasn’t cutting it. I had a vision, and my current gear wasn’t getting me there. So it was time to upgrade.

I rented the 50mm 1.4 lens from BorrowLenses.com and I was floored with the results. I couldn’t get enough of it. Unfortunately, my shortsightedness and need for instant gratification convinced me that the difference between 1.4 and 1.8 wasn’t much, so I could settle for the $100 50mm 1.8 lens instead of the $350 50mm lens. How I was mistaken. Friends, if you’re wavering between the two, save a little longer and get the 1.4. Much better quality glass. Trust me. Better colors, better sharpness. Better.

All reflections of the past aside, here are my two favorite shots from that day. I’m so proud of these images.

Happy Wednesday!

One response

  1. Pingback: Back to the Beginning «

Leave a Reply

