Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Back to the Beginning

So, with all the hype about my first year of blogging (oh, wait, that’s just me celebrating??), I decided to go back and take a look at my very first three sessions. They consisted of my two roommates and my sister. Hey, I had to practice on someone.

They took place in February 2010, and I have to admit I was scared to go back and look at them. And even more terrified of posting some of them. I was afraid they would look horrible to me now that I’ve been learning and growing so much. When I first bought my Canon, it came with the 18-55mm kit lens. This lens had the widest aperture of f/3.5 at 18mm and f/5.6 at 55mm. I quickly realized (as in, after these three sessions) that was not what I was wanting. I wanted the beautiful bokeh that came from fast glass. So I rented the 50mm f/1.4 lens and fell in love (see previous post).

However, I think I learned some really great stuff in these three sessions, and although my style has changed and developed significantly since then, I’m still fond of these images. They bring back the excitement, joy, and drive that I had to learn everything possible about the art of portraiture. And as I continue to hone my skills, I get even more joy from finding myself within this big world of photography.

Happy Friday!

2 responses

  1. Heck, you did better than I did when I first started! You’ve grown for sure though! You go girl! :)

    {psstt! Ignore the fact that I’m logged into my work in progress, there’s nothing there but I’m too lazy to log out XD}

    April 8, 2011 at 10:36 am

  2. Julia

    Yay I made your blog!! hehe… I’m excited for your first whole year of photography…I’ve seen you grow and develop ALOT. And it’s neat to remember that I got to be a tiny part of your beginning, even as just a model. :)

    April 8, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Leave a Reply

