Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Lincoln Portraits – Melissa

Sometimes, you just have to try new things. And I absolutely love people that are willing to let me try new things. Melissa is one of those people. And I love her for it. Well, that, and the fact that we can talk business for hours. And we did.

Melissa and I met our freshman year of college, and then ended up being roommates our sophomore year. She’s super fun – always laughing, talking, full of life. She is a fellow entrepreneur herself, starting up her own cut floral farm. She absolutely loves everything about plants. And let me tell you, that girl knows them all. So smart.

So, I wanted to try something new. And Mel was totally supportive when I told her I wanted to try using a reflector for her session. OK, so I totally don’t have a legit reflector right now, but I wanted to see if it was something worth investing in. And guess what. Foam board isn’t too shabby. Granted, it’s super light, and was a little hard to handle without an assistant, but I made it work. Sort of.

I just absolutely love the catchlights that reflectors produce. One of my favorite photographers, Michelle Moore, uses reflectors for almost every shoot. So, of course, I had to try it.

This is seriously, one of my most favorite photos. To date.

So, this was a different day, but I decided to try using some off-camera lighting techniques. It was super fun to experiment with, but I don’t think it really fits my style. Still, it is a good thing to know, you know. Just in case.

Happy Friday!

3 responses

  1. Girl, rock the foam core – you make it look pretty awesome! And the one with her laying in the grass is stellar. Seriously love it :)

    And your off camera lighting doesn’t look like off camera lighting, you did really awesome with that!

    April 15, 2011 at 11:57 am

  2. Rachel, These photos are amazing! My eyes are super blue. Do they look like that all the time?

    April 15, 2011 at 12:02 pm

  3. rik

    super crazy good, rachel! i don’t know why you’re nervous about coming to shoot with me, or what you’re hoping to learn from me either. seriously.

    April 15, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

