Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Missouri River Flooding 2011: Ft. Calhoun, NE

I was home this past week for an afternoon, and while everyone else was at work, I decided I wanted to get out and photograph some. I haven’t been following the Missouri River flooding information very close, but wanted to head out and see what it was like. So I headed down Highway 75 and ended up on some county roads that led me to one that was under water.

I couldn’t believe what I was seeing when I walked up. I mean, yes, I’ve seen the water before, but for some reason, being out in the country with nothing but nature, the awesome power of the river hit me. The road was completely under water. It actually didn’t even really look like a road.

I totally forgot to attempt a panoramic shot. This is the best I got that shows the expanse of the water. It was seriously all around me. The real kicker? The actual river bed is about TWO MILES from where I was standing (I was facing east). This is the first major flood I’ve experienced before, so that may or may not really be a crazy number, but to me, it is. To the northeast I could see buildings (houses?) that were totally flooded out.

You could see by all the driftwood and debris that the water has receded some. However, I was actually listening to the Blair radio station and they were discussing how no one should be letting their guard down, as levee breaches and more water could be possible. It’s unbelievable to me. My heart goes out to all of those seriously affected by this.

Leave a Reply

