Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Gear Review: Canon 28mm f/1.8 USM

First off, I should apologize for being so out of touch the last few weeks. I’m up to *HERE* in wedding planning and schoolwork, and so (shame on me) I haven’t been out shooting as much as I would like. I’m hoping things will slow down for a while after this coming week. Internet, cross your fingers…ready, go!

I wanted to take a bit of time to review my newest (and favorite!) lens. I bought the 28mm f/1.8 lens after realizing I needed a faster wide-angle lens. But if I’m being truly honest, I really just wanted a lens that produced results like my 50mm that I could use for every day life. NOTE: I shoot with the Canon 7D, so it’s not full-frame. If you are shooting full-frame, your results will be different (and wider) than mine, as the 7D has a crop sensor. That means the 28mm on a crop-sensor is *about* the equivalent of a 50mm on a full-frame sensor.

I found my 50mm was, although great for portraits, wasn’t so great for everyday life when I’m in cramped spaces inside or traveling. It was too tight. The only lens I had wider than the 50mm was my 18-55mm kit lens, which I only would ever use at 18mm if I HAD to, because the aperture is too small. Small aperture = no bokeh = not my fav. Plus it’s not as great in low light conditions. So I bought the beautiful 28mm.

What I love most about this lens is that f/1.8 is super fast, so I can get that incredible bokeh that I dream about at night. Also, because it has an ultrasonic motor (USM) it is SO quiet when it focuses. All of the lenses I own now are USM (finally!) and after coming from the nifty fifty (50mm 1.8) it is like I am in HEAVEN. No more clunking, whirling, or thrashing like the 50mm 1.8. Quiet. Unobtrusive.

This lens has become my walk-around lens of sorts. Anytime I take my camera with me for a trip or fun night out, I’ve got my 28mm on. I had it when we were moving my sister in to college, and was able to take this image standing relatively close to her. I would have had to be 10 feet away with my 50mm to get an image like this. It reminds me of images shot with a point-and-shoot, except with better bokeh, and I.LOVE.IT.

I even took it with me to the Nebraska State Fair. And if there’s one thing I love (almost) as much as bokeh, it’s sun flare. Gorgeous. (On a side note, I wanted to just scoop one of these little guys up and take him home with me!)

When I was considering buying this lens, I spent a lot of time looking on Flickr’s 28mm 1.8 group. Lots of inspiring images over there. I hope to do great things with this lens :)

Happy Saturday!

4 responses

  1. Nice !

    September 10, 2011 at 1:44 pm

  2. Great review. I think I am definitely settled on this lens for my 7D. Thank you! :)

    June 19, 2012 at 11:28 pm

  3. Hi there, I am in the same boat – I use a 7D and have a fairly small studio space. I’m debating on a solution for small space/crop sensor and wondered about this lens. I’m afraid of the distortion everyone complains about with the wider angles. I wondered how this one does on a crop sensor – does it distort a lot? Thank you so much!

    September 26, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    • Hi Rachelle! There’s really not much distortion on a crop sensor! I’ve noticed some now that I’ve upgraded to a 5D, but it’s still not enough to discourage me from using it! It’s my go-to lens for every day life. If you’re worried about it, just be sure to keep important subjects away from the edges. But I think you’ll be fine! Happy shooting! :)

      September 28, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Leave a Reply

