Fresh. Contemporary. Modern. Photography for the fashion-inspired bride.

Six Years Gone

It’s been six years, but I remember like it was yesterday. I remember coming home to my mom waiting out front of the house for me. I remember her crying and thinking I was in trouble. I remember the feeling of shock when the words hit the air. “Susan was killed in a car accident today.”

I remember the days that followed. The confusion and anger at God. I remember she was supposed to come see me twirl baton at the high school football game that weekend. I remember the funeral. Sitting in the room with all of the family while Pastor Douglass prayed before the service. Hearing my aunt sob. I remember crying through the whole service.

To this day, I can’t watch Rascal Flatts’ video for What Hurts the Most. It’s too much for me. When Kenny Chesney sings Who You’d Be Today, I think of her smiling face. But through the sorrow, we have hope. Her mama has hope. Susan was such a great witness for God to her friends. Through her death, students were able to see faith lived out. Through her life, through her death, and through her family’s trust that God was in control. Because he has a plan. I may not fully understand it, but he does.

Miss you, Suzy. (That’s us in the middle of the back row!)

One response

  1. what a beautiful piece of writing such a lovely memory
    you have spoken from the heart with great feeling too
    they will live on in spirit and in your memory too
    remebering the kindness and love you showed them in life
    and in there sad times to
    you wrote this from the heart
    and you wil always be in there memory too
    as they watch over you. from kevin this was so lovely to read.

    September 29, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Leave a Reply

